flinoobx.blogg.se

Doodle bug mini bike kit
Doodle bug mini bike kit









  1. #Doodle bug mini bike kit generator#
  2. #Doodle bug mini bike kit upgrade#
  3. #Doodle bug mini bike kit plus#

I wish my grandma was around so I could share them with her. Now I gotta find me a Doodle Bug frame to put it on! Thank you for posting these beautiful pictures.

doodle bug mini bike kit

I attribute much of my career to the interest that little 1 1/2 HP Briggs and Stratton engine sparked in me…stumbling across this website has given enough clues to identify that mystery scooter of my Uncle’s as a Doodle Bug!!! How cool!! I still have that little B&S engine. Clutch - 5.5HP, Stock - 19mm Shaft, 420 Sprocket with 10 teeth Coleman, Baja Mini Bikes. The owner payed me by the job and I was so good at it, I was earning upwards of $20/hr when minimum wage was not quite $3/hr!! Not bad for a high school kid!! I later got my mechanical engineering degree and now work for a major auto manufacturer…in engine design!!! Clutch - 2.8HP, Stock - 16mm Shaft, 35 Sprocket with 11 teeth Coleman, Baja Mini Bikes. I worked at that shop all through high school and into college. The owner of the local mower shop where I was buying my parts was so impressed, that he hired me to work for him.

#Doodle bug mini bike kit plus#

I learned enough that soon the neighbors were bringing me all their broken lawnmowers and I would fix them for a small fee plus parts. I managed to get that engine running again and learned an incredible amount about engines in the process. She didn’t know much more about what kind of scooter it was, nor could she tell me much else about it. He lost interest in it for awhile and later found that someone broken into the shed and stole the frame along with many of the parts. He had taken it all apart and left it in their tool shed. She told me the engine was all that was left of a “motor scooter” my uncle had as a kid. It was intriguing to me that it had a kick starter on it rather than the wrap-around-and-pull start that was more common on lawn mowers at the time. She took me there to get it and gave it to me to play with. My grandmother noticed my interest, and told me about this old engine that she had in her barn. This nicely restored Doodle Bug was graciously donated to the National Motorcycle Museum by Bev Kerkove, Monticello, Iowa.Īs a kid around 10 in the early ’70’s, I developed a fascination with engines. Today the following for these interesting machines, with a cool name, is very strong and there’s even an annual gathering in their town of manufacture, Webster City, Iowa.

#Doodle bug mini bike kit generator#

Headlight and taillight kits could be operated from a “D” or 6-Volt battery, or with the available generator kit. Looking back, though they may have been street legal, most would agree they are somewhat small and underpowered to be out in today’s traffic on public roads.

doodle bug mini bike kit

Using the Hiawatha brand name, Beam sold the scooters through Gambles department stores to compete with Cushman and Allstate scooters. A range of accessories from Doodle Bug allowed owners to make them street legal. Over 40,000 Doodle Bugs were made, some Clinton four-cycle engine powered at the beginning, but most later machines like this one used 1.5 horsepower Briggs & Stratton engines, all with kick-starting and bright red paint. They were part of the scooter craze that lasted into the early 1960’s when Japanese motorcycles started to dominate sales. The Doodle Bug is small, only about 1.5 horsepower, was meant for use as local transportation and was promoted to youth.ĭoodle Bugs were manufactured in Webster City, Iowa just after World War II, 1946 to 1948, by Beam Manufacturing.

doodle bug mini bike kit

The Doodle Bug and Egley scooters were manufactured in Iowa. Inner fork clearance (distance between the two forks) - 6.Today we know that Victory and Indian motorcycles are manufactured in Iowa, but even decades ago, Iowa had a motorcycle industry.Length (top plate to center of axle) - 19".This hydraulic front end can be modified to fit virtually any old school mini bike with similar length forks. All Doodlebugs / Small Bajas (originally equipped with a 4hp or smaller engine).If your mini bike has a 5/8" kingpin or axle then simply enlarge the kingpin/axle holes with a 5/8" drill bit. With its fully adjustable lower fork clamp, this front end can be mounted onto virtually any mini bike with a similar length set of forks.

doodle bug mini bike kit

The high quality rubber seals ensure a long life of this telescopic front end.

#Doodle bug mini bike kit upgrade#

This is an excellent upgrade to almost any mini bike as it will completely change the way your mini handles and rides. Universal, bolt on, telescopic fork mini bike front end.











Doodle bug mini bike kit